So…When is the First Volume Coming Out?

I know I keep on saying that the first volume of The Golden Lands (TGL) is going to be self-published very soon.  But, as of yet, I still haven’t released it yet.

What’s the hold up?

Well, first of all, when I say “very soon”, that could mean within the next couple months.  I recall saying in a different post that I’d be publishing within the next two weeks.  And it’s been more than two weeks.  I apologize for not keeping my word.

However, some things need to be done before I feel comfortable releasing volume one.

The first most important thing that I want to accomplish with the first volume is getting some good proofreading.  I’ve already proofread it twice, but I’m having my awesome mom go over it just to make sure I haven’t made any silly grammatical errors.

The next thing I want to do is find out how to copyright my work properly.  I know that no matter what, The Golden Lands is mine by virtue of the fact that I wrote it, but I want to copyright it professionally and securely…just in case.

Then there’s the matter of finding a self-publishing website I like.  As of now, Smashwords is my #1.  They let you self-publish for free, although they get 40% of your royalties.

And last of all, I need another illustration done, just to make TGL look awesome and official.

So, in theory, TGL WILL be released very soon.  Just not as soon as I thought.  But that’s a big part of writing; sometimes you need to take time to do what needs to be done.


And introducing the new, “photoshop corrected” cover for volume one (hair color is better and so is blood-graphics):

© Copyright 2015 all rights reserved

© Copyright 2015 all rights reserved

Your AA,

Aul

2 comments

  1. proverbs31teen

    I love the picture! 😀 For the copyright in my book, I just put: Text Copyright (c) 2015 C.B. Cook. All Rights Reserved. You can buy a copyright, but it’s not really necessary, most people say.
    If you’d like an outside opinion, I’d love to help proofread/beta-read! 😀

    Like

    • Aul

      Thanks! Yeah, I guess it shouldn’t be too hard to copyright it.
      Thanks for offering to proofread, but I’ve found that two people doing it at the same time can make things a little crazy.
      Aul

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

