The Evolution of My First Book Cover

Recently, I’ve been doing some work on changing the covers of The Golden Lands, in honor of the completion of the series’ first arc.  I’ve only gotten around to finishing (I think) the cover of Volume 1.  And I think it looks great!  But I think it’s just crazy to look back and see how the cover has progressed since we drew the first sketch.  See what I mean…

Copyright 2015

Copyright 2015

Then came the “colored pencil” version:

© Copyright 2015 All rights reserved

© Copyright 2015 

Not bad, but definitely not professional!

Copyright 2015 Clare Sceski

Copyright 2015 Clare Sceski

This eventually lead to the current cover; the graphic-tablet-colored version.  Waaay better!

And last, after making a few changes as I saw necessary (or was just inspired to make):

Copyright 2015

Copyright 2015

Tadaa!!!  Quite a change.  But I like it!

What do you think?  Any critique or suggestions?

Thanks so much!

Dom

6 comments

Leave a Reply

