NaNoWriMo–Failure…or Success?

I mentioned earlier that I had been participating in National Novel Writing Month this year.  I can’t say for sure whether I enjoyed the experience: trying to write so many words in a month (or a day) takes away the leisurely, pleasant feel of writing.  That being said, I got a lot out of NaNoWriMo.  For the majority of the time, I was able to consistently write every day.

I didn’t manage to hit 50,000 words though.

Anime silly picture

So…yeah, I failed to complete the challenge.  But, on the bright side, I was still able to fully write another volume of The Golden Lands.  No single volume in my series has ever been as long as 50,000 words, so I wasn’t surprised when I finished the book before hitting the required word count.  I tried to start writing the next volume, and then combining it with the former one, but…time ran out.

We seventeen-year-old homeschoolers just don’t have enough time on our hands *sigh*.

But at least there is a bright side!  Another volume is complete!

12 comments

    • Aul

      Yeah, I thought the same thing! The thing is, I was working on the seventh book of my series for the challenge, so I already had developed a plot, characters, and my own writing style. So I think that made my story a little less sloppy. But, in general, I think you’re right. Anyone that writes 50,000 words in a month will have a LOT of editing to do!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

