What is Blogging Good For?

“BLOGGING…HUH!…WHAT IS IT GOOD FOR?  ABSOLUTELY NOTHING…”

Ever felt like all of your blogging efforts are fruitless?

tired squidward

Join the party.

We have something to say to the world; we want to hone our writing skills; we have an awesome book idea and we think everyone should think it’s awesome too. That’s WHY we start a blog.  And then we join the blogosphere and we find that there are eight-bagillion (BAGILLION!) people fighting for everyone’s attention.

Blogging is almost always selfish, in my opinion.  Why?  Because it tends to be about everyone trying to sell something.  And I don’t necessarily have a problem with that.  The problem just becomes, “Are you good at (selfishly) marketing yourself?”

Of course, what if you AREN’T good at marketing yourself?  What to do then?  Do you find another venue?  Do you just give up (like me)?

Everyone would love to become a part of that lofty group of bloggers that seem to have all of the eight-bagillion bloggers following them.  The problem is, we don’t know how to get there.  Like so many popular authors, we are waiting for that one blog post that will make it big time: that one blog post that everyone loves.

But even our greatest blog-posts fail to receive the attention that they deserve.  And that is why this is so hard.  Because, eventually, we lose heart when our greatest works of art are treated like trash.

It seems as if the answer to this problem is just to keep blogging, in hope that one of your blog posts will eventually make it big.  Or you just have to stay consistent, and your popularity will slowly grow over time.  Or maybe you aren’t like me, and you don’t even care about popularity.  Whatever the case, blogging can sometimes be a source of doubt.  I know it has been for me.

Any thoughts?

11 comments

    • Aul

      Nah my point is that I do CARE about popularity, because I’m trying to promote my book series. The problem is, there’s SOOO much competition, and everyone is just selfishly trying to promote themselves, that no one gets anywhere. I guess I’m not too much better than everyone else, but it’s still a problem.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. lilyorphaned

    I think you need to NOT try to appeal to EVERYONE in the blogosphere (which is kinda impossible) but instead figure out what specific group you’re trying to “sell” to and focus on that little niche. The bigger your audience is, the more competition you have.

    My dad was actually just talking to me about “selling” stuff, and he said the things you have to figure out in order to be successful are “what, who, why, and how.”

    You’ve already got “what”: The Golden Lands. I don’t know whether or not you’ve figured out the “who” yet. I mean, YA fantasy/fiction is a rather large audience. You might want to target a more specific audience WITHIN YA. The “why” is kinda like, “So what? What makes your story remarkable? Why is THIS better than any other fantasy/fiction book out there?” The “how” is what you do once you have all of the other information. 🙂 Like, how are you going to target your audience? You need to connect with them and establish loyalty from your followers and whatnot.
    Sorry for the super long comment…. 😛 It’s just that my dad was literally telling me all this yesterday. He’s actually IN marketing, so he kinda is a professional on the subject. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Karandi

    I think I’d keep blogging even if only one or two people visited the blog as long as I’d found someone to discuss anime with I’d be pretty happy with that outcome. While I love that my followers keep growing that is mostly because it just means more conversations and more views on something I love.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

