You Won’t be able to “Write for a Living” Until You Need Writing to Live

i-am-a-writer

Writing to live, in the end, turns out to be an “all or nothing” endeavor, because it just won’t happen otherwise.  If you don’t put everything into your writing, into reaching your goal, you won’t ever reach it.  Nothing will be given to you.

If you try to publish traditionally, you’ll have to put everything into your writing through a contract.  Perhaps traditional publishing seems like an easier form of “all or nothing”, considering that “all or nothing” gets decided by your publishing company.  But it still requires your time, your heart, and your mind.

We self-publishing authors also know that we have to go “all out” if we want our writing to make it big time.  This is both the blessing and the curse of self-publishing.  In a way, like a big publishing house, we personally decide what “all or nothing” is.  But unless we are willing to spend buckets of our time (and even money!) promoting our story, networking, advertising, and networking even more, we’ll never make it big time.

And isn’t that what every author wants?   To have readers everywhere appreciating their work?

The bottom line is simple: if you want to write for a living, you need to make writing your life.  Are there any guarantees that your hard work will pay off?  No.  That’s what makes this endeavor scary.

Like I said, it’s all or nothing.  Are you willing to go the distance, knowing that you might not ever make it?

Are you willing to try?

Recently, I cancelled the self-publication of my series, The Golden Lands.  I needed to do some serious editing and “remodeling”.  Why?  Because it’s a necessary step to “going the distance”.  In order to gain ground, I am retreating on purpose.

I would encourage you to ask yourself some of the following questions:

Is my story where it needs to be?

What’s holding me back from promoting my story?  Are these reasons legitimate?

Am I not letting go of certain nuances in my story, simply because I’m personally attached to them?

How can I network better and reach out to readers?  Do I even want to try?

How much does my writing mean to me?   Who are some people I could reach out to for help in promoting my writing?

As aspiring world-famous authors, we need to work together to help each other achieve his or her goals.  Any thoughts or opinions would be greatly appreciated!  Please share your knowledge or your publishing experiences!

What do you think?

2 comments

  1. burresor

    This is so very true! Writers are viewed with so much skepticism due to the fact that unless you are a hit there is not much profit. So many are oblivious to the time, energy, and commitment that is poured to each and every page. Well said!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dominic Sceski

      Exactly! People have no idea how much work goes into our stories. Me and my sister were recently talking about the irony of it all: we can spend years perfecting a story, and someone could read it (or inhale it) in a day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

