How To Determine Who Your Real Followers Are

Image result for pic of supportive followers

Sooner or later, whether you like it or not, you’re going to find yourself wondering, “Who are my real followers?”

Sometimes I see these blogs where the author has gained a following of 2,000…or 20,000, or even 120,000.  That’s a LOT of followers, and I dream of having that many.  That being said, it’s interesting to note that these blogs only merit about 15-70 Likes per post.  You might think, “What’s wrong with that?  70 Likes is a lot!”  But compare that to the number of followers.   If you have 10,000 followers, and you only get 70 Likes…wouldn’t you be disappointed?  Shouldn’t you be getting…hmm, maybe at least a couple thousand Likes, assuming that other few thousand weren’t online that day?

What’s going on here?

All right, I’ll admit, we could get crazy with the statistics of blogging; maybe it’s not fair for me to say that only 70 people care about your blog when you have 2000 followers, just because you got only 70 Likes.  Maybe those 70 Likes consist of 70 different people each time you publish a post, so from that perspective, you really might have a huge following, depending on how many people are online on different days.

Whatever the case, that’s what this post is about: recognizing that Likes aren’t love, for better or for worse (I just made a political pun and a marriage pun right there!).

Why?

When someone Likes a post of yours, they don’t necessarily need to View it.  You don’t need to go far to see what I’m talking about.  In your Reader, you can see that–without having to click and OPEN a post–you can press the Like button.  And you don’t even have to know what you’re Liking.  You can appear to be a faithful follower, but in reality, you’re just going through the motions.

People can and have done this to me multiple times.

How do I know?  How do YOU know?  Well, go to your Stats page.  Heck, just go to your “Blog Posts” page, where you can see your most recently published articles.  You should be able to see the number of Likes, Comments…and yes, Views!

Does the number of Views outweigh the Likes?  If it does, then great job!

Image result for wordpress symbol for views

the image is not mine

Now, the people who Liked your post STILL might not have Viewed it.  We can’t tell if the people who Liked also Viewed.  But still, the number of Views is more important, because in order to tally Views…well, someone has to actually open up your post!  Which means it’s more likely that they read it.  Which means it’s more likely that they care.

And bingo.  You’ve found your true followers.

You’re followers are the people who read your posts, not Like them.  Because you can Like without reading.  

Monitor your Views.  If they are lower than your Likes, try to change that.  Work hard to make posts that are attractive and that really draw people in.  Make your writing desirable and View-worthy.  It’s easy to Like something.  It’s harder to View.  Which means Views are worth more.

What do you think?

16 comments

  1. thegirlonthego08

    This is something I wonder all the time! I really want people to read my post rather than blindly liking. They might not like my writing, but I’d be content that they at least read it through. So yeah, views are better than just random likes. And I too make it a point that I read a post before liking, that’s the minimum honour every writer/blogger deserves! ☺
    P.s : I loved this post! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dominic Sceski

      Yeah! Like I said in my reply to another comment, if everyone is just Liking blindly, we’re all patting each other on the back without caring at all. It just ruins the honesty of blogging.

      P.S. Thanks!! 🙂 🙂 glad you loved it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Akaluv

    This was a great post! I learned the hard way that followers can mean nothing. I used to write on a site called Wattpad, and I had over 3k followers, but they were fake. Real followers would read my work, and they never did for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dominic Sceski

      Exactly! People get this “instagram” or “twitter” mentality, where they follow people just to get followed back, etc. It creates a false atmosphere that NO one profits from. Thanks for stopping by, glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

