Elithius 1.3

001-001

Ever since I got a concussion, I haven’t had much to do but sit around and write!  (Thanks for all of your support, by the way!)

Here’s something new about Elithius!


All fantasy worlds are unique.  Something has to make each world special, or there will be something seriously lacking.  I’d like to think that I’ve done a good job with making my fantasy universe unique.

I know that we’ve been over this, but, just for any newcomers, my fantasy universe is called Elithius (this happens to be the name of my book series also).  Elithius has three worlds inside of it, which are connected by portals (The Golden Lands, the Gray Lands, and the Dark Lands).

This seems unique enough, right?

Well, things get a little more complicated, and that’s what I’m going to tell you about today (without spoilers!)

Kiilda: the Subworld Between Worlds

TGL 5 interior

My awesome sister’s representation of Kiilda

Only the bad guys (Malam/Evil) can pass through the portals (and thus between worlds) with ease.  If an Evil wants to go from the Golden Lands to the Gray Lands, all he has to do is take a step through the portal to the Gray Lands, and he’s there!  Evil can do this individually, or as a group.  They can also take humans with them too, and the humans will be unharmed when they reach the other side.

So the portals are Evil-friendly, and whoever Evil bring with them.

What happens if you’re a human though, and you enter without an Evil?

You will be sent by the portal to the subworld of Kiilda, whether you like it or not.  Even if you enter the portal as a group of humans, the portal will separate you into your own individual subworlds.

What’s so bad about being sent to the subworld of Kiilda?  You have to fight a demon–also called Kiilda–who isn’t even alive.   Seriously.  Kiilda is neither living nor dead, and Its only purpose is to kill whoever enters the subworld.  If Kiilda kills you…well, you’re dead.  And if you kill Kiilda, you never have to face the Kiilda of that portal again!  And you basically have the status of an Evil; you can take however many humans you want through the portal, and the portal won’t take them from you!

So this is just another way that Elithius is a unique fantasy universe.  I know that all of this might sound a little complex, but in the context of the book, it all makes sense.  Sometimes, it doesn’t make complete sense, because this information is new to all of the characters!

undead-knight

I do not own this picture.  But this is (surprisingly) a very good representation of what Kiilda looks like when It reaches the pinnacle of Its strength.

But hey, who doesn’t like a bit of mystery?  That is what Kiilda is all about, to be honest.  Where does the subworld of Kiilda come from?  Why does it exist?  Why is Kiilda friendly to Evil?

Lots of questions.  Does anyone have the answer (other than me 😉 )?


What do you think of the way I set up my universe?  Does it seem you unique?  Complicated?  Intriguing?

Your thoughts matter!

6 comments

  1. PCGuyIV

    To answer your questions in order, I find it an interesting concept. It is definitely unique. Perhaps I don’t find it complicated because it has spiritual undertones that I am familiar with, and it has some similarity to another “between world passage” that both you and I are familiar with. As far as whether or not it’s intriguing, I would say yes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

