Blogging Vices

I know we’ve already talked about this before, but this is an important topic, and I think we should discuss it in depth.

Blogging Vices are no-no’s, things that we shouldn’t do in the blogosphere and which will ultimately lead to our failure.  These vices disrupt the atmosphere of blogging, and make it something unhealthy.

So, what are these blogging vices?

1. A consumerist attitude

 

its-all-about-me

The image is not mine

Ever run into that person in the blogosphere who seems like they can’t stop trying to GET something from you?  They continuously reappear in your blogging circle (come on, everybody has one) and seem as if they are spamming everyone for attention?

Look, I get.  We are all trying to accomplish something through blogging.

Maybe we want popularity, just for the sake of popularity.  Maybe we want popularity for a book or another form of art.  Maybe blogging is directly related to our job–it’s a business for us.

I get it.  We all want attention, we all have something to prove.

Which means that if we all act like consumers, no one will get anywhere.

In order to gain, you have to give.  It’s a simple rule of life–not really a rule, to be honest.  More or less UNFORTUNATELY, life doesn’t always work like that.  Sometimes we gain without having to give (yay!)…and sometimes we give without gaining anything (awww…).

But the point is, in order to have a healthy blogging atmosphere that benefits EVERYONE (including ourselves), we have to be willing to give, not just gain.  If we have an attitude where we are only looking out for ourselves, we aren’t going to gain any loyal followers, we aren’t going to acquire massive audiences.  Because all we ever cared about was ME. ME. ME.

2. ONLY blogging about your personal endeavors

thank you gif

This is a personal pet-peeve of mine.  I see these bloggers who have a decent following (1,000+) and all they ever do is blog about their personal endeavors.  Their posts read something like this:

“Update on my story, (insert title here)!  Check it out!”

“Guess what!  My story is now FREE for a limited time only”

or,

“Part 17 of my blogging series, check out the other chapters here!”

And they NEVER.  BLOG.  ABOUT.  ANYTHING.  ELSE.

Don’t get me wrong, I understand that you’re here to promote something.  I’m writing a book, and will I use this blog to promote it?   YES.  But if I allow my book to become the focus, if I make my blog all about ME, will anyone care?  No.

Because no one likes a selfish, self-promoting jerk.

In regards to this vice, there needs to be a healthy balance.  To be honest, it’s less of an “equal” balance; I would advise that you blog about things that other people can actually care about. Write posts that appeal to OTHER people, not just to yourself and your super loyal followers.

It’s a simple truth: if you blog about things that appeal to other people, if you make them interested in your blog for THEIR sake (not yours), they will eventually be interested in your own writing endeavors.

But in order to gain their attention, you have to be willing to GIVE something to them.  (And no, I don’t mean your free book!)

3. Spam bloggers

spam

the image is not mine

I remember when a random blogger re-blogged a post of mine.  It was the first time I got a re-blog, and I was ecstatic.  I decided that I would reward that person by following their blog.

It didn’t take me long to realize that I had made a mistake.

This person re-blogged about twenty posts a day.  No joke.   There are these people on the blogosphere who act more like Spam than human, and it drives me crazy.  I can’t concentrate on my newsfeed with all of their stuff clogging up my Reader.

Don’t be a spam blogger.  If you write often, that’s great!  I think that’s a good habit.  But don’t SPAM people.  Believe me, it will have a negative effect, not a positive one.


So, these are some vices I would advise you to avoid!

What do you think?  What are some vices that bug you?  

11 comments

  1. gamersunitedggblog

    Thank you for the awesome tips on vices to avoid. One thing that really grinds my gears is when you post on a community blog and someone tries to be nice by liking every post that you have ever written in 5 minutes. I get that you’re trying to show support but if you don’t read and relate to the content does it really matter? I’ve always held the attitude (and try to tell others) that if you read and relate to 1 post of mines, I’m good. I’d rather have 10 loyal followers than 200 ghost followers you know. My personal opinion. Have great week!
    -Luna 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dominic Sceski

      I totally agree! There are people that like five posts in a row, all within five seconds! It’s dishonest to do such a thing, and it bugs me. I feel ya!
      Have a great week too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Karandi

    I don’t get the whole constant reblogging thing. I used ot get excited when a post of mine got reblogged but now I kind of only get excited if someone I actually know reblogs one of my posts because you follow the link back and you realise that the only ting on these sites are reblogged posts (and as you said, like twenty a day so following them just fills up your reader).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. chaos-xd

    Haha I’m commenting as I’m reading through the post..
    The total “me me” dudes totally get on my nerves.. They comment with a promo to their blog which completely takes away the whole excitement of receiving a comment.
    “Wow great blog.. now go check mine” 😄

    And there is this random person who goes on First Friday and Community Pool and likes ALL the damn replies.. like I wake up to like a ton of notifications from this follower craving creep like wth 😐

    Great post dom! I’ve been wanting to post something about the self centred creepy dudes and seeing you pen this down so accurately you’ve quenched my thirst! 😄✌

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

