eBooks or Print? Which Do You Prefer?

Image result for picture of someone reading an ebook

eBooks…

Which one do you prefer?  eBooks are obviously WAY easier to obtain.  If I’m not really sure if I’ll like a book, I’ll buy the eBook version so that it doesn’t have to take up space in my house.  eBooks are also just way more convenient, since you can buy them in the comfort of your home, and you don’t have to wait for them to get delivered to you.

That being said, I think many people are still in love with holding and looking at a PHYSICAL book…or at least I am.  This generation still isn’t internet/technologically friendly enough to respect reading on a computer, tablet, etc.  I’ve never really minded reading books on my devices, but there’s something special about reading a book in print.

Image result for picture of someone reading a book

…or print?

For instance, I think it’s easier to be proud of a physical book that you’re reading; you can take it anywhere and look like an intellectual boss (if that exists)!  I also think that, for promotional reasons, having books in print is better, because other people can actually SEE that you’re reading a book written by so-and-so.  If you’re just reading an eBook on your phone or tablet, it’s harder for people to see that and become aroused by what you’re reading.

Which one do you guys prefer though?  As an author, hearing what you have to say is important to me! eBooks are convenient, print is classy.  Any thoughts?

13 comments

  1. wyattandwaltsawday

    Good point on people being able to see the print book you’re reading–hadn’t thought of that. On a basic level, we prefer print books, mostly because we like to take notes in the margins. Ebooks are great for all the reasons you listed–plus, they’re typically less expensive (don’t need all that pesky paper and ink!). Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karandi

    I’m old school and love my physical books. I do have an e-reader for travel (books weigh a lot and take up too much space in bags when you have limitations on space) but as soon as I’m home it goes in the drawer and stays there until my next outing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dominic Sceski

      Hmm, okay! I can definitely respect that, since I feel the same way. I suppose the benefit of modern technology is that now we can have both, eBooks and print.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. chaos-xd

    I’m on my phone 24/7 not many people to text but either trying to write something on my blog or catching up with some favorite bloggers posts..
    So I’ve always thought of minimising the use of mobiles..

    As tempting as it may seem I don’t think I’ll ever want to get hooked up with an e-book!

    I love collecting books and carrying one with me in the bus and around my workplace! I do accept that it not only makes me feel like an intellectual boss but it also makes me feel comfortable in my isolated introverted circle.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Sierra Dawn

    I used to love the feeling of physically turning the page of an old book, however, nowadays I find myself using an iPad mini to do my reading. Its lighter, slimmer, fits in my purse, and to be honest I just love having a whole collection of books in my hand. With eBooks you can look back at what you read, all in one virtual book shelf. But I still love the look and aesthetic of physical books and will keep a few of my favorites around the house under a flower pot or something to lighten the mood.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Dominic Sceski

      Wow, you literally spelled out the benefits of eBooks! You could be an eBook marketer!
      I agree with you, I like the convenience of eBooks, and I will usually only buy a book if it is a favorite.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Jaylee Morgan

    I. Hate. Ebooks. This might change later, but… as of right now, the majority of my school, and thus day, is spent on the computer. By the time I’m done with school and with my writing, I do not want to look at another screen. Secondly, I can read faster and remember things better when it’s print. Don’t ask me why… I just do. I love feeling the pages between my fingers, I love curling up on the couch and showing off the gorgeous cover to my family while I read and I love smelling the book while I read. That being said, if it’s an ebook only and I’ve heard really great thigns​ about it, I might get the ebook, but I’d rather just wait till it came out in print.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

