What to Expect

Well, I still don’t have a computer, but that shouldn’t stop me from writing. Seriously. I’ve actually begun a new story over at Wattpad. If you’re into action and anime, you should check me out on Wattpad. I’ll definitely follow you back. My username is Hedekira16.

But anyway, I thought I’d write a post about what kind of things you should expect from my series. It’s been a while since I blogged about my book, so I thought it’s about time that I gave all of you some more inside information about Elithius, the fantasy series I’m writing.

A few things have encouraged me to post this actually. The first is having finished the fifth Harry Potter. Great series, everyone. I know I might sound dumb because I’m only reading this series now, but if you ever get the chance, read Harry Potter.

Image result for harry potter

The other thing that encouraged me to write about this was the “heart to heart” I had with my little sister last night…about our books. It was actually an awesome experience, it’s astonishing how much my sister has studied Elithius! And her own story has impressive depth and creativity, despite her age!

So, having read Harry Potter 5, and talked about my series with my sister, I realized that there is A LOT to talk about concerning Elithius.

Expect Something Like Harry Potter

First of all, I’m really starting to realize how close the THEMES are between my series and Harry Potter. One major theme in Harry Potter is the “mirror image” theme; Harry and Voldemort (the antagonist) are both extremely similar in their personalities, but they oppose each other for reasons of good and evil. What’s more, Harry and Voldemort have a mysterious…connection.  They are able to be inside of each other without the other knowing, but, even though they are somehow magically connected, they cannot survive with BOTH of them alive. Crazy, but interesting, right?

Harry and Voldy

Harry and Voldemort, mirror images of each other

Well I was surprised to find that my series is quite similar. John Hedekira, the main protagonist of Elithius, encounters his dark mirror image in multiple antagonists…but one antagonist is literally the embodiment of John’s darker self. The interesting thing is, this embodiment of his darker self is always depicted as more glorious, powerful, beautiful, and seductive. I can’t say too much without spoiling anything, so I’ll stop.

So basically, you can expect themes revolving around characters encountering their mirror images…and yes, oftentimes having a unique connection with them.

Another popular theme in my series is the notion of relying on something stronger than yourself to fuel your power. Yes, this can include sorcery for the bad guys, and magical/supernatural assistance for the good guys. Make no mistake, my characters don’t just have evil spirits and good gods doing battle for them; but, depending on whose side you’re on, one of these will fuel your power.

Other themes include revenge, redemption, forgiveness, the meaning of life, the meaning of battle, true unity among mankind, family, romance, and yes, many more.

Expect Something Like Bleach (Anime)

One of those themes listed above has always been very interesting to me: the meaning of battle.  Have you ever thought about why we find action and (basically) violence so exciting and interesting?  To a certain degree, isn’t this rather bothersome to acknowledge how violent we are as a society?

Why do we desire battle?  Why is it “cool” when we watch movies where people kill each other in epic, creative, or even dark ways?

Image result for Kenpachi zaraki quotes you need a reason to fight?

Although I don’t consider Bleach to be a very philosophical anime, the question of desiring battle and why you should fight DOES come up.  Particularly when Ichigo is trying to defeat his inner Hollow: he is told that he needs to have a “killer instinct”…which means he SHOULDN’T have a reason to fight.  He should fight simply to be powerful.  And that means defeating more and more enemies.  For a brief moment, we see Ichigo have this sense of “killer instinct”…because, well, he defeats his inner Hollow thusly.

Image result for Bleach killer instinct scene

I never liked those reasons for fighting.  I refused to believe that our love for fighting is so misplaced that it only revolves around a desire for power over others.  It seemed wrong, and selfish.

So, one major theme in my series is determining WHY you should fight, if it’s for good reasons, etc.  The way you fight and what you’re fighting for determines the way your magical abilities will express themselves.

Yup, a little complicated, but in a good way.

So these are just a few things to expect from my series…but many more, of course 🙂


I really hope all of you find my series interesting, or at least give it a chance. I know an author testifying about his own work is kinda lame, but that’s all I can give you right now (besides reviews from readers, of course).

Looking forward to re-publishing! 🙂

What do you think?

10 comments

  1. Akaluv

    As you know, I don’t read on Wattpad, but if you ever post on WordPress, I’ll gladly read your work =) My work is also influenced by anime and other stories I’ve read. I feel it’s normal to get inspiration from our favorite stories. It happens ^__^ You have some interesting themes for your stories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dominic Sceski

      Okay, I understand! Thank you! It means a lot to hear you say that.
      And yes you’re so right, after watching anime it’s hard for that style of storytelling not to creep into my own stories!

      Like

  2. Nicolle

    Cool, your story sounds interesting just from the comparisons with Harry Potter! I don’t have a Wattpad account so I’m not sure if your stories are open to public, but I’ll go have a look when I’m home. 😀

    You know, I read Bleach the manga (and watched a bit of the anime), but I didn’t finish it. While I liked the first part of it, I got bored with it very quickly (somewhere after the first trip they made to the other world, can’t remember the name now 😅). It was starting to feel like Dragonball, not enough story but too much fighting, so I agree with you on the fighting for a reason, and that it shouldn’t be to be more powerful. I have a tendency to go with the “I fight to protect my loved ones / friends” theme rather than the “I fight to save the world” theme. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dominic Sceski

      Well good, I’m glad you think so! I’m looking forward to publishing!
      I never finished Bleach either for the same reasons! There wasn’t enough character development. Sure, it had epic moments, but there wasn’t enough substance to keep me attached to the story.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

