Identifying Your Target Audience

Image result for so much to write about meme

Let’s face it, there’s a lot we can blog about.  We can blog about sports, cooking, TV shows, movies, books, politics, anime, and all the subgenres for each of these topics.  In an online world where ALL of these categories exist, it’s nice when we’re able to distinguish an “otaku/anime blog” from a “baking and fashion blog”.

So if we really want to please readers, we have to actively indicate and continuously support the type of blog we claim to have.

It all comes down to a few important questions:

What is my target audience?  Who am I trying to appeal to?  What IS my blog about?

Choose Wisely and Decisively

8dcdc-0edf368bc7b03e9b1c996026b023ec3bc760ffea367d6a9ec7ac68e3f4333ad7

But what kind of followers are you looking for?

I once thought that my target audience should’ve been anime-watchers.  I liked anime, my book series that I’m trying to promote is “anime-esque”….so why not try to attract fellow anime lovers?

It was a good idea…for a little while.  But then I had a problem: I didn’t watch enough anime to blog about it.

It’s true.  As much as I love anime, I really don’t watch enough of it to have an anime-based blog.  It was good that I was centralizing my blog and making it about one topic in particular…but I just hadn’t chosen the right one.  I just wasn’t meant to blog about anime, even if my book series had an “anime feel”.

So I changed my style; I changed my target audience.  I observed other bloggers and decided who I wanted to be like.

And that’s when I stumbled upon my true target audience: Bloggers like me who are trying to promote their books.

That’s who my target audience was/is.  Because these kinds of people are people that I can relate to; I’m going through the same thing; and there’s plenty of people out there who will be interested in my blog now.  It was a win-win-win!

Determine carefully not just what you think you SHOULD blog about, or who you SHOULD try to reach; just focus on who you CAN reach to the best of your ability.  Believe me, you’ll reap the rewards!

What is My Blog About?

take-a-step-back

Of course, this is related to what we just talked about above.  Perhaps the proper question is, “What am I trying to accomplish through my blog?”

We all have goals, and we’d like to see them reached.  But sometimes the best step to reaching our goals is understanding what we want EXACTLY.

I’d love to have a thousand anime-lovers following my blog.  But that wouldn’t accomplish the purpose of my blog.  In order to fulfill the purpose of my blog, I need people who are interested in what I write, people who enjoy ME as a person, and people that I can follow and enjoy back.  I need a community.

I need people who care about me and my book series.

And that’s the answer: the purpose of your blog should be to create and join a community of like-minded people with similar goals.

Stay focused on this goal, this purpose, and don’t waver.  There are a lot of things to write about, but stay true to who you are and what you represent.

If I started blogging about politics, wouldn’t that confuse some of you?  Obviously, I’m welcome to.  This is my blog, and I can talk about whatever I want.  But it wouldn’t be something that appeals to my particular community.

Thus, the goal is to remain on track.  Keep pursuing your goals, and keep fulfilling your purpose.

Are you trying to attract scientists to your blog?  Crime-Mystery lovers?  Do you just want people who will listen to you, pray for you, or cry with you?  People who will buy your book?

You need to answer these questions in order to be a successful blogger.

Last But Not Least…

its-all-about-me

Yeah, don’t be like this guy…

If you’ve identified your target audience, great! But the last thing I would advise you to do is not hammer people with stuff that’s all about YOU.  Building a community is about OTHER people, not just yourself.  Don’t just yap to everyone about your book, or your personal views on this, that, or the other.  Write content that is useful and interesting to other people (while still relevant to your blog), and you’ll be amazed at how much people appreciate it.

To build a community you have to be a part of it.  Plain and simple.


What do you think?  Who is your target audience?

10 comments

  1. Akaluv

    I totally agree with you! And I loved this line, “the purpose of your blog should be to create and join a community of like-minded people with similar goals.”

    It’s so true! My target audience is other writers who need encouragement for their work. So far, I feel like I’ve built up a good following. :3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nicolle

    “The purpose of your blog should be to create and join a community of like-minded people with similar goals.” That really hit me! Not like a brick, but more like a splash of cold water. 😛

    I think this was the problem when I first started my blog a couple of months ago – I thought of what I’d write, but not who I’d write to! Well, I did have the general idea of writing what I’d like to read, so in a sense I did somewhat think of who I’m writing to (people like me). Today, I have a better idea of who I’m writing for (like-minded people who wants to spread positivity around), and so I have a better idea of my post content. 😀

    Great post as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dominic Sceski

      Well that’s good because a brick would hurt!
      That’s awesome! You’re lucky to have caught on and changed your focus so early in your blogging career. I felt like I took too long focusing on the wrong things and had to learn the hard way. Glad you found the right way quickly 😉
      And thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Dominic Sceski

      Well I think that’s awesome! That’s SUPER important to persevering: having fun! In fact, when you’re having fun, then “persevering” doesn’t seem so difficult at all. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

