To All New Bloggers Out There…

So I’ve been noticing that, now more than ever, there is an influx of new bloggers.  What’s more, many of my most recent followers seem to be bloggers that are just starting their journey here on WordPress.

To all of you, welcome!!!

thank you gif

WELCOME!!!

A lot of you seem to be very attracted to my more educational posts, like “The Reason Why People ‘Like’ But They Don’t Comment”.  So I thought I’d write another “educational post”, particularly geared towards you new bloggers.

The First Thing You Want to Do…

i-am-a-writer

Identity yourself to yourself.  What does that mean?  It means that, as you start writing, as you start reaching out, networking, meeting other bloggers, targeting specific audiences, you need to know first and foremost WHO YOU ARE as a blogger.  You can only reach the audience you want once you decide what kind of blog you are going to run.

So identify yourself to yourself.  What do you think you’ll write about?  Do you review books or movies?  Write about sports?  Cooking?  Are you trying to promote a book or a business?

You need to figure this out.

The truth is, it’s obnoxious as a reader to visit a blog about book reviews, only to find they decided to go off on a cooking tangent.  Centralizing what you write about is important to maintaining and developing a community around yourself.

However, if you’re the kind of person who likes to blog about anything and everything, disregard this completely! 😀 😀 😀

Next: Identify Your Audience

Sig and Armstrong

I cannot stress this enough: once you discover and surround yourself with like-minded bloggers, blogging becomes so much more FUN!

The number one word that captures the essence of blogging is COMMUNITY.  And to build and enter the community that you want, you have to find the right people.

So identify your target audience.

A while back, I wanted to target an audience of anime-watchers.  Why?  I’m writing a book that is very anime-esque (among other things).  So I tried to write about anime, to reach out to other people that liked anime…but it just wasn’t working.  Why?  Because I don’t watch enough anime to connect with other people.

Although I thought anime fans were my target audience, it took me a while to understand that I was wrong.

So I took a different approach: I started targeting fellow writers.  And let me tell you, that made a big difference!!  I discovered my community in them, aspiring and self-published authors like me.  And suddenly, my blogging world truly became alive.

Identifying your audience is important, especially if you’re trying to promote something.  But, in the end, it’s even more important for the sake of creating a community…which, once again, is what blogging is all about!

Stick With It

tired squidward

We all struggle with this from time to time.  We lack motivation because life gets busy, our blogging efforts seem fruitless, or other bloggers seem to be doing so much better.  Believe me, I get it.  I’ve been blogging for three years and I only have 420 followers.  To some of you, that might seem like a lot, but it’s not.

The goal is to keep at it.  Fight through the dull moments.  Keep on writing.

Believe me, if you stop writing, you’ll accomplish nothing.  I know that seems like an obvious statement, but it couldn’t be more true.  If you stop writing, you’ll accomplish nothing.

So you must continue to write.


I hope these tips were helpful!  As always, Let me know what you think!


Like the way I write?  Check out my new book Elithius on Amazon here!  The Kindle version is only $0.99 for a limited time only!!  Get it now!

elithius-cover-official

Cover art by Elizabeth M

 

14 comments

    • Dominic Sceski

      Well I’m glad you were able to take something away from it. It’s true, it’s important that we remember these foundational tips, even if we’ve been blogging for years!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Akaluv

    Ah! I totally agree there are many new bloggers around lately. I wonder what the big blogging boom is. Yeah, I’ve noticed other bloggers and readers like the educational posts, too. Hmm, a while ago you asked for advice on how to market your book. Sorry I didn’t respond to your post. Did you still need advice for marketing?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kate

    Short yet straightforward and no-nonsense. This is why I like your “educational” posts a lot, Dominic! 😀 I still remember your “”Like” but Don’t Comment” post and it still bears an impact to me to this day. Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dominic Sceski

      Haha well thank you! And yeah, that’s one of my more popular posts…I don’t even know how people find it!
      Thank you very much 🙂
      How is your email newsletter doing by the way?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kate

        I think it’s because it’s a timeless advice 😊 You’re welcome! And I’m pausing my newsletter for a while until I get a grip on it and find a way to regularly add them to my routine 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

