What If My Story Isn’t Good Enough?

stressed-out-writer

“What if my story isn’t good enough?”

“What if no one likes my idea?”

“Do I feel bored of my own idea?”

Have you ever had these doubts?  Of course you have.  If you’re a writer, then you’ve probably wrestled with these fears before, or you’re wrestling with them right now.  We constantly fear being rejected, being forgotten, or seeing our hard work go to waste.

The truth is, writing a story is a lot like being in a relationship.

“What if he doesn’t like me”

“What if I’m not good enough for her?”

“Do I feel bored with my relationship?”

It’s crazy how similar writing is to a relationship.  What’s important to remember, I think, is that, as in relationships, we have to PERSEVERE.  I mean, if a relationship isn’t good for us or the other person, usually we stop, right?  Hopefully we do.  And the same goes with writing.  If a “story relationship” REALLY isn’t working out, meaning you don’t feel captivated by your own story, or you are feeling like it isn’t worth it, then maybe it’s time to find a different story.

HOWEVER, it’s okay to just “not feel it” some days.  That happens in real life relationships…but that doesn’t mean the relationship is bad.  Bad days happen.  Good days also happen too.  And it’s important to remember that and, once again, PERSEVERE.

Emiya fall

PERSEVERE!

You’re never going to get what you want and be where you want to be in ANY kind of relationship unless you persevere.

Rekindle your imagination.  Think of your favorite parts.  Rewrite and reread.  Fall in love again.  Make plans.  Take breaks.  And, most importantly, be patient.  Great writers don’t fall from the sky, so you probably won’t either!

Writing a story is like being in a relationship.  What’s your relationship like?

10 comments

  1. Nicolle

    I agree with this great post! I like my writing and story and everything, but there are those down days where doubts seem to seep in and try to bring me down. But those days are usually the down kind of days for me (not just for writing but everything else too!), so a few days’ break usually helps to see it in a better light. 😀
    [dramatic heroic music] WE WILL PERSEVERE!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

